Governors, lawmakers for SPCC’s 70th Anniversary


High-ranking federal government functionaries, prominent traditional rulers, professionals and leaders of political parties in Nigeria are expected in Aghalokpe, Delta State on Friday, April 9, 2021.

The 70th Anniversary Celebration of St Peter Claver’s College, Aghalokpe is billed for April 9 and 10, 2021.

According to a statement by the Chairman of the 70th Anniversary Organizing Committee, Chief Kingsley Omokri, there will be Mass at the College Chapel, inspection of college premises and distribution of anniversary crested books to students of SPCC, Aghalokpe and pupils of SPCC Nursery and Primary School on Friday, April 9, 2021.

Also Read This:  Kidnappings: Okai says Kogi East at the Mercy of Kidnappers Calls For Collective Actions Against Their Activities

Major programmes at the gathering, Chief Omokri said, include the commissioning of renovated projects by old students, anniversary lecture, award ceremony for those that have distinguished themselves and launching of a book titled ; SPCC Aghalokpe: The Hidden Pearl of the Ethiope.

‘’There will be free medical service for the natives of Aghalokpe, Aragba, Oviri, Ekpan, Okpara-Waterside and Igun on Saturday, April 10, 2021’’ the statement said.

.’’A novelty football match between Old Boys Association of St Peter Claver’s College, Aghalokpe and Old Boys Association of Urhobo College will take place on Saturday, April 10, 2021’’ the statement added.

Founded in 1950 as the fourth secondary school in Warri Province (later renamed Delta Province in 1952), St Peter Claver’s College was the first secondary school in Sapele.

Also Read This:  Ohere Hails KOSIEC As APC Sweeps Kogi State Council Polls

Its proprietor, His Lordship P. J. Kelly, Catholic Bishop of Benin Diocese which included Warri/Delta Province during British Colonial Times, envisaged St Peter Claver’s College as the equivalent of St Patrick’s College, Asaba, for the Catholic Community in Warri Province.

SPCC moved from Sapele to Aghalokpe in 1953.





· NIGERIAN JOURNALISTS (Publishers, Editors, Correspondents and Reporters)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *