Further to the resolution reached at the meeting of selected Ebira stakeholders held on 14th May, 2022 at the Federal College of Education, Okene, an Eleven-man Local Organizing Committee (LOC) has been inaugurated to earnestly commence activities critical to the successful hosting of the national convocation.

Performing the inauguration ceremony, Dr. Godwin Oyibo, the President-General, Ebira People’s Association (EPA), explained that the leadership of the association had, since May meeting, engaged in extensive consultations among other critical stakeholders across the Ebira nation with a view to further consolidating the May 14th resolution. Dr. Oyibo pointed out that the proposed two-day National Conference which has the theme: *“Situating Ebira in the Array of National Discourses”* is further structured into five thematic areas which include, Sustaining Peace and Security in Ebira land beyond 2023; Ebira and the Imperatives of the 2023 Population Census; the evading Resuscitation of Ajaokuta Steel Company; and the curious “dispute” surrounding the ownership of the land of Ajaokuta.

The President-General expressed strong faith in the capacity of members of the LOC to deliver on the task before them, adding that the committee is manned by patriotic personalities who have proven their mettle and distinguished themselves in the cause of peace and development of the Ebira nation. Dr. Oyibo called on all-meaning Anebira to support and rally the committee to ensure its success.

The committee comprises of:

1. Comrade Abubakar Momoh (Eika District Development Association)- Chairman;

2. Engr. Musa Yakubu Ozovehe (Kogi Central District Development Association)- Member;

3. Mall. Salihu Amoka Hussein (Okengwe Development Association) – Member;

4. Mall. Obaro Galadima (Ihima Welfare Association)- Member;

5. Comrade Obiyo Aliyu Ateiza (Ebira Youth Congress) – Member;

6. Hajia Khadijat Ahmed Ogrima (Ebira Market Women Association) – Member;

7. Dr. Isah Yinusa (Academia) – Member;

8. Alh. Yusuf Hojapa, MNIN (Ebira Renaissance Group)- Member;

9. Alh. Sheik Adai Mamman (EYC Elders Council) – Member ;

10. Comrade Shauibu Jimoh (Adavi Consultative Council) – member;

11. Baba Abdulrazak (EPA National Executive Council) – Member/Secretary.

Speaking on behalf of the committee, comrade Abubakar Momoh, the chairman of the committee, expressed warm appreciation to the leadership of EPA for considering members of the committee worthy of the assignment entrusted on them. He solicited the support of all and sundry as he promised that the committee will give nothing short of its level best.

The expandable committee has seven days within which to submit her preliminary report.

*Comrade Ohida Haruna Abdulmaleek*,
National Publicity Secretary.

By joshua

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.