Former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu has clinched the All Progressives Congress, (APC) ticket to fly the party’s flag in 2023 presidential election.


The Jagaban of Bogu land polled 1299 votes, which is 50% of the total votes to beat his major opponents former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

About 2,322 delegates from the 36 States of the Federation including FCT gathered at Eagles Square, Abuja, to elect the touch bearer MN of the party ahead of the 2023 general elections.

While Tinubu, who doubles as the National Leader of the party, got 1,299 votes, his major opponents, Amaechi and Osinbajo secured 316 and 235 votes respectively.

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan got 152 votes while the Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, scored 47 votes.

Among all the aspirants who procured the N100 million nomination forms, 23 were successfully screened to participate in the primary.

With the current development, Tinubu will face the former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and other party candidates to battle for the top political office in the forthcoming 2023 elections.

Result details:

Bola Tinubu – 1299

Rotimi Amaechi – 316

Yemi Osinbajo – 235

Ahmed Lawan – 152

Yahaya Bello – 47

Dave Umahi – 28

Prof Ben Ayade – 37

Rochas Okorocha – 0




By joshua

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.